Spring is in the air

I grew up in upstate New York where our winters were long, cold, and snowy. When I was a kid, I loved playing in the snow and catching snowflakes on my tongue. I even remember building a giant snow fort (more like a snow village) during the blizzard of ’92 which dumped 3 feet of snow in 1 night. There’s something magical about snow and even the beauty of ice glistening on empty tree branches across the Blue Ridge Mountains. But, I would be lying if I ever said that I loved winter. Although I still love cuddling up with a cup of hot chocolate and having the dog warm my feet on a cold winter day, I now also have to deal shoveling the sidewalk, slipping on ice and cracking my brand new phone (yep, that happened, and the screen is still cracked) and walking to work with the cold wind blowing on my face.

Luckily for me, I now live in the South. I know some people don’t think that Virginia is considered to be a part of the South, but for a girl from New York, this is definitely the South. We’ve definitely had our share of wintery mixes, blizzards, and freezing temps, but we usually pull out our shovels and salt a few times a year. We’ve had one ‘major’ storm this season so far which hit on Christmas Eve. Other than that, it’s been unseasonably warm…can you believe it was 70 degrees this weekend? My allium bulbs are even starting the sprout.

Spring is most definitely teasing us with her warm temperatures and budding plants, but we are also seeing signs of spring inside of the studio. Spring weddings are fast approaching and April will be here before you know it. Here’s a little preview of what we’re working on this week.

cozzi-1

This is a fun floral invitation that combines both a formal and whimsical feel. We hand drew the floral + paisley graphics and then letterpress printed it with a soft blush to connote the beautiful cherry and redbud blooms that let us know spring has arrived.

Leave a Reply

